Big Screen Blog

Media Center, Windows Phone7 + Silverlight Goodness..

Windows Live Spaces – Comment Spam Issues..

with 3 comments

I know it’s an age old problem – but my blog has been severely targeted of late by spammers leaving their crap as comments.

Unfortunately – the Spaces system/team doesn’t seem to be doing anything to prevent this from happening (even though it seems to the same 3 or 4 people repeatedly leaving the same stupid messages) – and to make things even more difficult – it takes about 3-4 clicks to get to the point where I can actually start to delete the unwanted comments from a single post. (and have to to do that ‘per post’ – rather than being able to go to one place and delete all the unwanted comments across posts).

There doesn’t seem to be any ‘moderated’ comment system on Spaces – and the only option seems to be either to not allow comments – or prevent anonymous comments (which won’t work either as these spammers seem to actually have ‘hidden’ spaces accounts/profiles). None of the common options provided on other blogging systems – such as typing in ‘the code’ (where an image is displayed containing rendered letters/numbers) seem to be offered either – and combined with developer SDK’s – make it really too easy for people to abuse the system.

Just to top it off – the spaces terms/conditions also states that I as a blog writer am ‘responsible’ for anything posted in the comments section- which is really ludicrous given it’s their own security holes and lack of implementation of what is standard on other blog systems that’s allowing this to happen in the first place.

If I can find the time I will (try to) send an email to the spaces team explaining these problems – and how every other blogging system has dealt with it. (but given previous experience of having my blog delisted for the wrong reasons and then not being able to get it reinstated via leaving comments to the team – without pulling MVP strings – this might be a real waste of time).

I’m yet to find any 3rd party tools to assist with this spam removal (hopefully there’s something out there). If I have to go to the effort of making my own tool (or trying to raise a response from a automated reply system here) – I might as well use that effort to move my space to another system (or host it myself).

Anyone with a spaces blog with any good ideas?

Written by mobilewares

February 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My recommendation, although probably not very popular, is to get an account on http://wordpress.com instead.  They have gone to great lengths to tackle the spam problem with Akismet.  You also have a lot more control of how your blog looks.  If you want even more control, you can host WordPress yourself or have a hosting service host it for a nominal charge.  I started with Spaces but moved almost immediately to WordPress.
     
    Hope that helps.
    David

    David

    February 20, 2008 at 2:05 am

  2. i got stick of spaces and moved my blog to Thedigitallifestyle.com
    I use community server and its pretty good

    Ian

    February 20, 2008 at 9:53 am

  3. I hate this about Live Spaces.  I too have escalated to spport as I’m being targetted by Live Spaces spammers. Their solution was for me to disable comments!?!?!?!
    At least Microsoft should create a single interface for dealing with multiple comments from the same source not the painstaking interaction with the blog summary screen.
    I too may have to move to a more intuative blog platform.
     
     
     

    Shane

    March 30, 2008 at 12:03 am


Leave a Reply

