Big Screen Blog

Media Center, Windows Phone7 + Silverlight Goodness..

Off-Topic: Ouch – my leg..

with 5 comments

I’ve been hobbling around in pain like an invalid for the past few days (with the calf on my left leg swollen like a watermelon). I initially assumed it was most likely a muscle injury – or at worst some sort of reaction to a spider/insect bite – but after 4 days it seemed to be getting worse not better- and I finally ended up going and seeing a local GP (Doctor) to make sure.  

Luckily I chose to see a GP – and not a Physiotherapist (as originally planned) – as after a quick inspection – it turned out I had a suspected case of ‘DVT’ (Deep Vein Thrombosis – the blot clotting problem traditionally linked with going on long flights etc). After the GP spent a few frantic minutes on the phone trying to get me in for some urgent treatment (and some ultrasound scans) – I was quickly sent to my local hospital – where I received a couple of DVT injections ‘just in case’ (as ultrasound dept was already closed for the day). The Doc looked pretty worried and basically said if it was DVT – without immediate treatment – there was a very high chance of the clot going to my lungs/heart (which would be potentially fatal).

Today – I went back in first thing for the Ultrasound and it was confirmed I did in fact have DVT (and a nice big clot just below my left knee). Noone is quite sure how it occured (as I hadn’t been on any flights or long journeys for at least 3.5 months) – and the only possible cause is the amount of time I spend at my desk working (and not moving much). Although I do try to take a short break every hour or so – I sometimes get lost in what I am doing and the hours can really fly past unnoticed.

So as of lunchtime today – I was officially ‘checked’ in as a patient to the local hospital for the next week and a bit… however luckily for me – I actually get out of staying there – as a nurse will be coming to my house/office daily to give me my ‘shots’ – and perform blood tests etc on me whilst here (so they can monitor my progress).  The initial round of treatments will be for approx 7-10 days – however if the clot hasn’t gone after that – I’m told this daily treatment will be extended for another 3 months..and then 8 months… and then.. (well hopefully it’s well and truely gone before then)..

DVT is apparently reasonably common for elderly people – but at my age (34) – its quite unusual – and is a bit of a wake up call for me to get myself healthy (ie. currently I’m a smoker, I work very very long hours, only sleep 5/6 hrs, am underweight etc ).. 

So this NYE I think there will need to be some resolutions and some lifestyle changes to be made… and luckily I’m still here to make them…

 

 

Written by mobilewares

December 5, 2007 at 7:31 am

Posted in General

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yikes!
     
    Glad to hear your okay Niall. Take it easy for a while!

    Richard

    December 5, 2007 at 9:06 am

  2. Wishing you all the best Niall, take a break and get well.
    John.

    John

    December 5, 2007 at 1:11 pm

  3. Here’s hoping everything heals up nicely.

    Charlie

    December 5, 2007 at 4:41 pm

  4. Feel better soon!

    Mitchell

    December 7, 2007 at 3:48 am

  5. Argh! That’s terrible – did they Warfarin you? You know that this gives you even more geek cred though. We want you to rehearse your resolutions for us at the XEEP…and show us a bit of leg 😉

    Unknown

    December 10, 2007 at 1:19 am


Leave a Reply

