Big Screen Blog

Media Center, Windows Phone7 + Silverlight Goodness..

Remix 07 Melbourne Recap

with 5 comments

Microsoft Remix07 landed in Melbourne earlier this week – bringing in the who’s who of the Australian (and o/s) tech/blogsphere/digitalmedia scene into the one place.

I’ve had a few really exciting+interesting days as a result – with the absolute highlight being meeting a bunch of people I only ever communicated with via the web.. There was a lot of really well thought out sessions and discussion panels – with a very predictably large focus on Silverlight and the Expression Products.

Unfortunately for me – a lot the sessions that I did get a chance to attend (inbetween meetings) –  were still all ‘hello world’ level – as a lot of the attendees are still starting out in these areas (so was what the majority of people wanted to see – and the correct choice by the organizers). One thing that was very good to (finally) see was a session actually dedicated to MCPL / Media Center (by Jason Suess) on interactive advertising opportunities. Hopefully MediaCenter stuff becomes a regular inclusion in future ReMixes (and maybe even TechEd)..

Something that would be a good inclusion in future – might be to have some ReMix++ style sessions – for those who are making/have-made the jump from ‘Hello World’ to ‘Real World’ – and need to know about best practices etc with regards to performance+issues and what techniques do/don’t cut it. I think the closest thing I saw to this was Lee Brimelows (frog) WPF session, were he went through his WPF journey (from his earliest attempts/prototypes through to his current commercial work utilizing WPF) – with the most valuable takeaways being his comments on what you ‘shouldn’t do’ in WPF. (things the manuals/docs won’t tell you and the hello world samples would encourage)..

Michael Kordahi (the delicate genius) posted a bunch of photos to flickr (Flickr photoset) from the event – so these are worth a look if you were there (I’ve found myself on at least a couple these)..

 

WebJam@Remix

Another big highlight was of course WebJam@Remix on Monday night – where 16 people (including me) presented cool stuff they have been working on/with (limited to 3 mins each) – and the (drunk) audience then voted by SMS to determine the winner. 

There was some downright cool presentations – ranging from the completely bizarre/funny (and even cruel and unusual) – like this one pictured below from Nickviz – who managed to somehow incorporate an Elvis routine into his tech presentation – through to incredibly cool/useful stuff (like John’s Traffic/Weather sidebar gadgets) – through to the completely unlikely (Phillip Beadle doing a full DotNetNuke install and writing a blog post in under 3 minutes).

  

Although I felt my presentation didn’t go as expected – I somehow managed to fudge 2nd place (I think I was way too serious/ and spent the first minute talking – which only left me 2 mins to actually show a couple of screens from Big Screen Photos 2 – not the game plan at all).. Having just under an hours sleep the night before also probably didn’t help things much. I’m waiting for the Webjam site to be updated with the full results as the winning entry (and others) were very cool and I want to link to them.

So I’m now the proud owner of a Wacom Bamboo Tablet (my prize – thanks Wacom for this and Lachlan Hardy for dreaming up such a cool event!)..

This probably means I’m going to have to actually learn how to draw at some point. Unfortunately last time I tried that (as a toddler) – my drawings never seemed to be "fridge worthy" in our household – and instead my parents would tactfully praise the virtues of something else I was better at ..   I hear the bamboo can also be used for non-drawing purposes (like supporting gestures etc) – so this is always a good fallback in case the drawing bit doesn’t work out..

In my presentation (with around 5 seconds left) – I showed off a brand new feature/ux in Big Screen Photos 2 (dreamed up last week) – called ‘digital frames’ – which as the name suggests allows you to view a ‘digital frame’ containing photos from a particular user/group etc (determine purely by the context of your browse items and grouping – in a similar manner to the geobrowsing feature). I also included the ‘token’ rotating 3d carousel with reflections (as you highlight each frame the photos contained within that group rotate about the frame).

Anyhow – here’s a couple of pics below to give you an idea of what the new digital frame UX looks like in BSP2 (without trying to turn this into a Work In Progress post) –

image

image

Written by mobilewares

June 28, 2007 at 5:41 am

Posted in General

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elv15 is a twitter.com "bot" to get Elvis quotations…. following on from my other Neil Finn works at http://nickhodge.com/neilfinn
     
    However, I must admit your Media Center app won for me ++Flickr on my TV. How to make my family happy!!!
     
    Good work.

    Nick

    June 28, 2007 at 8:19 am

  2. love the media centre integration with flickr…send me details of who we should email at SmugMug to get you to build a similar app so i can pass round to my co-smugmuggers

    Bronwen

    June 28, 2007 at 9:11 am

  3. Nick: Hey I think I was laughing so hard during your presentation I must have missed part the content.. love the concept – and maybe Lachlan should have a seperate SMS vote for funniest one too! Im looking forward to seeing what you do next time!..
     
     
     
     
     

    Niall

    June 28, 2007 at 2:25 pm

  4. Bronwen: Thanks – happy you like it!.. I think there’s a contact/email address on their site at http://www.smugmug.com/help/emailreal (they sound pretty receptive to end user feedback too by whats written there)… It would be great if I could arrange some sort of deal with them to get it going on SmugMug (have heard lots of good things about this site)..
     
     

    Niall

    June 28, 2007 at 2:28 pm

  5. Ha ha, nice photo!

    Dylan

    June 29, 2007 at 1:13 am


Leave a Reply

