Big Screen Blog

Media Center, Windows Phone7 + Silverlight Goodness..

MCML Snippits : Vista MC Style Pivot Items/Buttons

with 7 comments

 

 

<SNIP>
 
Unfortunately this post has been removed due to substantial and blatant abuses of copyright by other members of the community – and a complete unwillingness of those people to ‘pay it forward’. (including but not limited to ‘claiming of ownership/copyright by other prominent members of the community’).
 
As per before – the code/sample previously found in this blog post / development article is (C)mobilewares.net and is strictly not to be directly used/stolen by other 3rd parties (commercial or not) – and was only ever made available for the purpose of teaching other developers how to better use/develop the platform. (and if you still have access to this code – this copyright is still in full force).
 
Note that freeware/shareware/donationware/prototypes and other distribution models (or ‘usages’) are not exempt from this copyright either (IP theft still equals IP theft – regardless of the ‘price tag’ attatched or ‘availability’).
 
If you have misused this original blog post/materials contained within – and are unsure how to rectify this situation – please contact me to discuss via the messaging system provided by this blog. (ie. honesty is the best policy – and I’m not planning to throw the book at someone who is reaching out and trying to do the right thing.)
 
Written by mobilewares

January 31, 2007 at 6:59 am

Posted in MCPL

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey thanks – that works a treat (and saves a lot of time)! I will use it in the future – as well as the many other Writer addins I just downloaded too from that link..
    btw – this was my first post with Live Writer (have been doing it all online in the past) – hopefully my spelling/grammer will improve now that I can see more than 8 lines of text at once!
     
     

    Niall

    January 31, 2007 at 9:39 am

  2. Man, I think I love you.
     
    If you aren’t already invited (I’m tempted to think you may be Sorry for thegreenbutton.com forums, but if you aren’t I apologise) then please feel free to join in the development of MCMLookalike, at http://www.sourceforge.net/mcmlookalike.
     
    Do you mind if I borrow code from this page? I’ve designed my own versions of these buttons – I’d like to take the best of both (read this as : mostly yours) and integrate them into the project.

    Steven

    January 31, 2007 at 10:24 am

  3. Oh, and one other thing – how long did it take you to find the
     
    <Default Target="[Input.KeyFocusOnMouseEnter]" InitialEvaluate="false"> ?
     
    I was seriously starting to tear hair out of my head (a precious commodity!) until I found that bugger.

    Steven

    January 31, 2007 at 10:26 am

  4. Hi IgnoranceIsBliss,
    I found that Mouse stuff via my journeys in the SDK docs (element reference) – which contains lots of additional stuff not mentioned in the introduction chapters. If you look at the Reference for the Input Element – it shows you all the different Input Switches that are available. (Still trying to work out what the stuff about ‘AreaOfInterest’ means in there as its not mentioned elsewhere).
    Please feel free to learn what you can from my samples (and then apply that elsewhere such as your opensource project) – however please provide an attribute back to this blog entry if you are copying large chunks of the code. (as I want people to be able to read the explanations here so they know how to use/enhance it).
     
    ps. no I’m not the user ‘Sorry’ – I think my alias is mobilewares or NiallG on TGB..
     

    Niall

    January 31, 2007 at 12:25 pm

  5. <Update>
     I just updated the sample page with some changes :
       – I’m using Position Keyframes (animating the Z Value) instead of Scale Keyframes for the animating the different panels.
       – The MouseOver works properly now for all parts of the UI (so you can roll mouse over the content area)
     
    Refresh your browser to get the latest version.
    </Update>

    Niall

    January 31, 2007 at 4:31 pm

  6. Oh, I found it the same way you did. What got me was the fact that the Media Center SDK shows these things as XML objects, while in fact they are .NET objects. It threw me that while it showed <Input> as a tag, you couldn’t directly use it It evenutally explains all this at the bottom of the page, but I tend to develop by the seat of my pants and had already written the stuff before I finished reading the article. Hey, it’s my first week of MCML 😛
     
    But putting it as a <Default> rule worked, once I actually completely read the darn thing 🙂
     
    Our implementations of the PivotBar (which I called the CategoryBar) were actually very similar, but you made much better use of the Choice object (I used a seperate EditableText element to control the objects, where you use Description property of the choice), and you managed to get your Scroller object animating, while mine never did.
     
    If there’s any way I can make improvements, I’ll send ’em along to you. The only thing I can think of off the top of my head is using the HasNext and HasPrevious members of the Choice object to highlight the arrows on the focused PivotItem correctly. This is an oddity in Media Center. In TV + Movies, the arrows around the selected item are blue if you can not go any further in that direction and white if you can. This doesn’t seem to be the case in ‘Music’. But I think it’s kinda cute, so unless you’ve got it to be a circular track (and you may) then I may just try that feature on.

    Steven

    January 31, 2007 at 9:48 pm

  7. Thanks very much – I’ve credited you, provided a link to this page and snagged a bit of your code. The scroller now WORKS properly, which is just fantastic.

    Steven

    February 2, 2007 at 2:26 am


Leave a Reply

