Big Screen Blog

Media Center, Windows Phone7 + Silverlight Goodness..

My Outlook 2003 is suffering Digitial Amnesia

with 4 comments

 
My Outlook 2003 has been suffering from a severe case of Digitial Amnesia (or is that Digital Dementia) over the past few weeks. (thanks to some alleged ‘enhanced junk mail filters’ delivered over Windows update).
 
For some odd reason – a number of people (that I’ve regularly been in email contact with over past 12 months) have suddenly been classed as ‘junk mail’ senders. (and to alleviate any conspiracy theories – even emails from Microsoft folk like Charlie Owen were classed as junk).. I’ve had to now manually add each person to the ‘safe senders list’.
 
Unfortunately it took me a couple of weeks to realize what was going on – as previously I would just go into my junk email folder – select everything – and hit permenant delete. (and hence I’m positive I’ve deleted a number of real emails from people without knowing about it). I now have to wade through all the Junk mail and try to spot real messages – which totally devalues the usefulness of having junkmail filtering in the first place.
 
I’m hoping this is fixed (or at least not duplicated) in Office 2007 – which I’ve been trying to scrounge up some money to buy (as my current MSDN Pro subscription doesn’t entitle me to get this for free).
 
So if you are running Outlook 2003 – beware of this potential issue if you’ve been getting the latest updates – and check twice before you permenantly delete the contents of your junk mail folder.
 
 
 
Written by mobilewares

January 13, 2007 at 1:41 am

Posted in General

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you looked at the MS Empower program? It is for ISV’s who are building MS products. For US$375 it gets you MS tools for 5 devs plus all the server software you need for development for a year.
    https://partner.microsoft.com/40011351
    John.

    John

    January 13, 2007 at 2:34 am

  2. Hi – thanks for the link. Unfortunately it tells me that my ms passport is not ‘recognized in the microsoft partner program’ – so I guess its not available to the likes of me. Do you know anywhere else I can get this from?
     
     

    Niall

    January 13, 2007 at 9:20 am

  3. bit torrent…heheh.
     
    p.s. that big screen tv series look soooooooooooo good. i relly hope u can kick out a beta soon!

    Unknown

    January 14, 2007 at 1:17 am

  4. Sorry Niall,try this public one instead from Australia – We get the nice mark of $875. Still worth it though.http://www.microsoft.com/australia/partner/isvanddevelopers/empowerprogram/default.aspx
    John.

    John

    January 17, 2007 at 3:31 am


Leave a Reply

